The story of Benniksgaard

Benniksgaard dates back to 1393. It was run as an agricultural farm by the Bennick family for 400 years. The Jepsen family then took over the farm and ran it for 160 years until 1866, when the Danes' defeat by the Germans two years earlier forced them to leave. Benniksgaard was run by a German tenant until reunification in 1920.

The farm then returned to Danish ownership, but was confiscated as a German/Japanese confiscation property, as the tenant farmer was German-minded.

 In 1947, the manager was Knud Friis, who together with his wife, Ebba, bought the farm in 1951, and Benniksgaard was now completely in Danish hands. His son Mads Friis took over the farm with his wife Ingeborg in 1977 and runs Benniksgaard to this day.

From farm to hotel
When the farm was converted into golf courses in 1997 and the first 11 hotel rooms were added in 2000, Benniksgaard's transformation into an idyllic hotel filled with wonderful experiences in the South Jutland countryside was well underway.

Later, the farmhouse also became hotel rooms, and today Benniksgaard Hotel has a total of 69 rooms, including the two separate buildings, the Luxury Holiday Apartments and Benniksgaard Bed & Breakfast.

The old carriage gate and granary have been converted into a restaurant, and the granaries have been refurbished into meeting and conference rooms with a conference lounge. And the old barn, which used to house the granary and agricultural machinery, is now home to Benniksgaard Golf Club.

The changes continued in spring 2016, when the farm shop was added. In collaboration with the hotel's two restaurants, the shop offers traditional South Jutland food experiences.


The stables
Until 2000, the stables were used as cow, pig and horse stables. Today, the stables on the ground floor and the hayloft on the first floor have been converted into 31 cosy and charming hotel rooms, which, with their exposed beams, still reflect the original function of the building. From the outside, however, the stable is still as you know it.  The old, whitewashed wing building with the original windows and doors and the beautiful old lamps.

The farmhouse
The farmhouse is a listed building and served as a private residence until 2004. The Danish Cultural Heritage Agency granted permission for a renovation with the proviso that the hotel rooms should look like the original records of the farmhouse from the 17th century. The thatched roof was also to be restored as it was before the roof fire in 1872. In 2005, the farmhouse received an award from Gråsten Municipality and the Danish Cultural Heritage Agency for a "gentle and beautiful" renovation.

Royal visit
The farmhouse was inaugurated by HRH Prince Henrik. H. Prince Henrik. On this occasion, one of the suites was named after the prince and 10 of the rooms were given royal names. Today, the farmhouse is furnished with 13 unique rooms. Several of the rooms have sea views, access to the garden and terrace


Phone us..
+45 7465 0949



Check in from 3 pm
Check out until 11 am